Hurricane in Puerto Vallarta Mexico?

Weather, money, general tips, help and more... your Puerto Vallarta trip made easy.

Moderators:admin, Moderators

bananaboat
PV Beachbum
PV Beachbum
Hurricane in Puerto Vallarta Mexico?

Post by bananaboat » Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:23 pm

I´m wondering, is there a possibility of a hurricane in PV these months? I`ll be there by late july..

sandib
PV Fanatic
PV Fanatic

Post by sandib » Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:16 am

I am a newbie to PV (been 4 times so far so still consider myself a newbie) 8) I believe there is a very good chance of a hurricane. So far during the past week or so, we have tracked 3 different tropical storms/hurricanes (Bud, Carlotta and now Daniel). None of them have come too close to land and have all spun off to the west. They seem to start just below PV (acapulco area perhaps?) then go up the coast a little then off to the west. I have a feeling it may be a bad year for them nasty little boogers! I'm not too concerned though. We have a trip planned for Aug 5th-12th for hubbys birthday and will not be changing our plans. The last hurricane I know of was a few years back. It seems PV is fairly protected (??? dont know just a wild guess, locals may disagree. I just go by what I hear on the news and weather channels. My husband is a pilot so he is ALWAYS watching the weather). Perhaps because it sits in such a large bay? I'm certainly not trying to scare you off and I really would not be to concerned about this. Don't worry, be happy! You are going to the most spectacular place on earth ~ JMO. :lol: Have a great time, I know I will, no matter what the weather! [storm] [sun]

Jennybean
PV Oracle
PV Oracle

Hurricanes

Post by Jennybean » Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:29 am

PV is not conducive to hurricanes. Hurricane Kenna in 2002 did not, despite what was reported on many news stations in the US and Canada, get hit by the hurricane. It landed near San Blas, about 100 miles north of Vallarta.