Cell Phone Rental in PV

Weather, money, general tips, help and more... your Puerto Vallarta trip made easy.

Moderators:admin, Moderators

marcos
PV Fanatic
PV Fanatic
Cell Phone Rental in PV

Post by marcos » Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:33 pm

For business reasons (I'm a Real Estate agent), I'm going to need to rent a cell phone in PV while I'm there for 2 weeks.

I remember reading something about a year ago on the board but can't find it now. In any case, can an yone tell me if renting a phone is possible and, if so, can it be done by someone like me who isn't fluent in Spanish.

If all this is possible, where would I go to rent a phone?

bzy1inpv

Re:Cell Phone Rental in PV

Post by bzy1inpv » Thu Dec 30, 2004 3:34 am

It would probably be less expensive for you to go to any Telcel store (they have them all over) and purchase a cheap cell phone with a SIM card and do the pre-paid phone card plan (AMIGO PLAN).
You can get a phone for about $60 US with 300 pesos of time, then replenish (buy an AMIGO card at any SIX Tecate and most other stores)

If you buy at the main TELCEL store on FCO. Medina Ascencio (Across from the SunGetaway Hotel, near Mega) they will program it in English. The main TELCEL office has a parking lot in front, not the two little TELCEL stores within a block ot two.

bzy1inpv

Post by bzy1inpv » Thu Dec 30, 2004 3:37 am

duh! I forgot to add if you already have a cell phone with a SIM card (GMS) you can just have it reprogramed and then use the AMIGO cards. You HAVE to go to the main TELCEL office to have the phone reprogrammed. It must be GMS and best if it has a SIM card..... you may be able to find one cheap back home at thrift stores or garage sales since people usually upgrade once a year or so to a new phone. Nokia, Motorola, LG, Sony/Erickson are good bets.

marcos
PV Fanatic
PV Fanatic

Post by marcos » Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:35 pm

Brenda: