Dreams conversion to Hyatt?

Comments, tips, questions on Puerto & Nuevo Vallarta hotels, resorts, lodging and others.

Moderators:admin, Moderators

slocal
PV Beachbum
PV Beachbum
Dreams conversion to Hyatt?

Post by slocal » Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:23 am

My wife and I have been coming to PV since 1991 and we used to stay at the Camino Real, now the Dreams just south of town. Recently I booked 10 days in early April 2014 and put down a deposit. My travel agent now informs me that the hotel ownership is changing. I managed to find out that they are shutting down for complete major renovation about the time we leave! I had a similar experience staying in a hotel in Miami for a professional meeting and the staff all knew they were being let go for a long time, there was poor somber service and the food and bar were terrible as no one cared. I am concerned this might happen to us during that last week of the Dreams before it closes for reno. Anyone out there have any insights? I would like to think the staff (many of whom we know by first name) would be professional and we would have just as good a time as always, but I have real concerns.

Thanks to anyone for any insights. Happy holidays and new year too!

katnsocal
PV Oracle
PV Oracle

Post by katnsocal » Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:39 am

There is a lot of discussion about it on Tripadvisor. This is the latest post from a guy that is getting married there in April 2014. Perhaps you should contact the resort directly if you are not comfortable with what you have been told.