Worker bees need more rights

Kick back, relax, here any topic is fine, well... almost any topic... :-)

Moderators:admin, Moderators

chico98
PV Oracle
PV Oracle
Worker bees need more rights

Post by chico98 » Thu May 10, 2007 4:20 am

Worker bees need more rights to stay on the job
Einstein, "If the bee disappears from the surface of the earth, man will have no more than four years to live. No more bees, no more pollination, no more plants, no more animals, no more man."
http://www.tahoebonanza.com/article/200 ... /105090022

chico98
PV Oracle
PV Oracle

Post by chico98 » Thu May 10, 2007 3:17 pm

the original newsletter post

Worker bees need more rights to stay on the job
Colony collapse disorder, commonly known as, "Where the hell did all the bees go," is causing scientists to pull out their hair.

Well, I'm not a scientist, and in fact, only got as far as Biology 101 at Berkeley where I did not distinguish myself, except in the lab where I managed to slip a pithed frog into Valerie Vucavich's makeup kit without her noticing. She was getting the best grade in the class and wrecking the curve, so we were really relieved when she failed to return, and the curve collapsed a little.

I never studied bees much, but always found them fascinating, especially when I stepped on one in my bare feet. Pulling the stinger out was about the most interest I ever showed in a bee, until I read about Vanishing Bee Syndrome, and was scared out of my wits by a quote attributed to Einstein, "If the bee disappears from the surface of the earth, man will have no more than four years to live. No more bees, no more pollination, no more plants, no more animals, no more man."

Whoa! Where DID all the bees go? In an attempt to ferret out where the bees have gone and why, I put myself in a bee's mind and tried to tease it out myself; this is my account...